The Jan Andrews Literary Award

MASC’s Teen Creative writing competition

This award was created to honour MASC’s co-founder Jan Andrews. Jan was a storyteller and children’s author who inspired many with her stories and belief in the importance of the arts to young people. We invite students to submit a piece of creative writing to be considered by a jury and the winner would receive 20 hours of mentorship with a professional author.
Deadline for submission for the 2020 Jan Andrews Literary Award is Monday March 23rd and the winner will be announced in early May.

Application Form

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2019 Jan Andrews Literary Award was Kailey Rennals. Kailey is being mentored by local award winning author Caroline Pignat.

Kailey and Caroline Pignat JALA 19.png

Questions? Please contact Alejandro Salgado
The winning student’s name, photograph and entry may be considered for publication on the MASC website, unless specifically declined by the applicant.

All entries will be checked for plagiarism.