The Jan Andrews Literary Award

This award is given in honour of MASC’s co-founder Jan Andrews. Jan was a storyteller and children’s author who inspired many with her stories and belief in the importance of the Arts to young people. We invite students in grades 9 to 12 from Eastern Ontario or Western Quebec to submit a piece of creative writing (maximum 1000 words) to be considered for this award. The winner will receive 20 hours of mentorship with a professional author. The mentorship will be developed between the winner and the artist.  

  • Jan Andrews

    MASC’s co-founder

    Jan Andrews was an acclaimed author of numerous children’s books, including The Auction, a Governor General’s Literary Award finalist. Jan was the first President of the Storytellers of Canada. In 2016, she was appointed to the Order of Canada for her contributions to Canadian culture as a children’s writer and pioneer of Canada’s storytelling movement. In 1989 Jan Andrews and her partner Jennifer Cayley co-founded MASC, which has become the leading arts education organization in this region.

Our Partners

Explore more events